COVID-19: News, Information, Resources, & Opportunities to Support

Skip to main content

Xi Chapter Award Winners

Xi Chapter Award Winners

Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame Award
The Episteme Award

The Baxter International Foundation’s Episteme Award acknowledges a major breakthrough in nursing knowledge development that has resulted in a significant and recognizable benefit to the public, and comes with a generous $15,000 stipend to the award recipient. In the tradition of the Nobel Prize, The Episteme Award is presented to a person or team for highly significant research.

Penn Nursing is home to seven award winners, more than any other school of nursing.

Past winners include:

Elizabeth McWilliams Miller Award for Excellence in Research
Research Dissemination Award
  • Team Member , Linda Bucher, RN, DNSc (2007); “Better Blood Pressure for Better Patient Care”, Christiana Care Health System and University of Delaware Blood Pressure Team
Research Dissertation Award
  • Linda Hatfield, PhD, RN, CNNP (2007); A Randomized, Double Blind, Placebo-Controlled Trial Examining the Analgesic Properties of Oral Sucrose during Routine Immunizations at Two and Four Months of Age
Research Utilization Award
  • Diane L. Spatz, PhD, RNC (2007); Evidence Based Lactation/Breastfeeding Care for Vulnerable Infants
Marie Hippensteel Lingeman Award for Excellence in Nursing Practice
  • Eileen M. Sullivan-Marx, PhD, RN, FAAN (2011)
Best of Sigma Theta Tau International Book Award
Best of Journal of Nursing Scholarship Awards
  • Sarah Kagan, PhD, RN, FAAN (2007); “Prepardness for Influenza Pandemic in Hong Kong Nursing Units”
Media Award
  • Diane M. Wieland, PhD, APRN, BC (2007); Internet Addiction