Skip to main content


Sigma Theta Tau International awards recognize achievements and contributions in nursing. 

Below are the different award categories. To see the many individual award options within each category on the STTI site, and to submit nominations, please click on the category name.  

XI Chapter Research Award Winners 2018

Solim Lee, MSN, RN    

 Title: Understanding the Heart Failure Patients’ Symptom Perception Process: A Mixed Methods Study.

The purpose of the study is to explore HF patients’ process of symptom perception and its related factors in hospitalized patient using a convergent mixed methods (QUAL+quan) design.

Jennifer Morone, MA-ATR, BS-RN

Title: The Influence of Social Determinants of Health on Family and Self-management of Type 1 Diabetes in Black Single Parent Families

 Purpose: The purpose of this exploratory is to expand our understanding of what are the most influential SDOH components for black single caregiver families, how do they influence type 1 diabetes family and self-management, and what are potential solutions for addressing these components in this high risk population.

Saumya Ayyagari, RN, BSN

Title: A Qualitative Study Investigating Lived Experiences and Perceived Reproductive Health Needs of Female Participants at Prevention Point

Purpose: This qualitative phenomenological study aims to elicit the perspectives of adult female participants of Prevention Point Philadelphia (PPP) regarding their lived experiences, their evaluation of available reproductive health services, and their reproductive health needs.

From left to right: Maya Clark-Cutaia, Desiree Fleck, Stephanie Spinosa, Sue Keim, Dean Villarruel, Beth Quigley, Sumya Ayyagari, Solim Lee, Jennifer MoroneFrom left to right: Maya Clark-Cutaia, Desiree Fleck, Stephanie Spinosa, Sue Keim, Dean Villarruel, Beth Quigley, Sumya Ayyagari, Solim Lee, Jennifer Morone

Nurse Researcher Awards

Honor a nurse whose early career or long-term research has impacted the nursing profession.

International Awards for Nursing Excellence

Recognize a nurse or group for the International Awards for Nursing Excellence.

Showcase of Regional Excellence

Highlight chapters’ achievements in relation to the Presidential Call to Action.

Chapter Key Award

Honors chapters that excel in chapter-related activities.

Honorary Membership

Acknowledge someone who has greatly contributed to the advancement of nursing.

The Episteme Award

The Baxter International Foundation’s Episteme Award acknowledges a major breakthrough in nursing knowledge development that has resulted in a significant and recognizable benefit to the public, and comes with a generous $15,000 stipend to the award recipient. In the tradition of the Nobel Prize, The Episteme Award is presented to a person or team for highly significant research.

Penn Nursing is home to seven award winners, more than any other school of nursing, including Dorothy Brooten (1989), Lois K. Evans and Neville E. Strumpf (1995), Ann Burgess (1999), Linda H. Aiken (2001), Loretta Sweet Jemmott (2007), Mary D. Naylor (2009), and Therese Richmond (2017).

Research Hall of Fame

Penn Nursing has three XI Chapter Research Hall of Fame recipents which include our current Penn Nursing Dean Antonia M. Villarruel, PhD, RN, FAAN (2015) Barbara Riegel, PhD, MN, FAAN, FAHA (2015) Therese Richmond, PhD, FAAN, CRNP (2013).