Skip to main content

Norma M. Lang Award

The Norma M. Lang Distinguished Award for Scholarly Practice and Policy was established to recognize a University of Pennsylvania Nursing Faculty member or a graduate from the School’s Doctoral Program who has made a distinguished contribution to nursing through their scholarly practice. Scholarly practice is considered to be the rigorous integration of practice, education, research, and policy. This award is established to honor the distinguished practice and policy work achieved by Dr. Norma M. Lang throughout her exemplary career. 


Professor and Dean Emeritus Norma M. Lang, PhD, FAAN, FRCN, RN, the School of Nursing’s fourth Dean, is internationally recognized for her advocacy of the role of nursing in health policy and practice. She is a pioneer of the International Classification for Nursing Practice and the Nursing Minimum Data Set. Her seminal model for nursing quality assurance, developed in the 1970’s, bears her name and serves as the basis of nursing policy throughout the world. Upon becoming the fourth Dean of the University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing in 1992, Dr. Lang envisioned a nurse-run model of practice that integrated teaching and research, resulting in the development of the School’s Penn Nursing Network that further integrated the School’s tripartite mission in education, research, and practice. 

2021 Award Winner

Regina Cunningham

Past Award Winners

  • 2019: Charlene W. Compher, PhD, RD, LDN, FASPEN 
  • 2017: Mary Ersek, PhD, RN, FPCN
  • 2015: Christine K. Bradway, PhD, CRNP, FAAN, AGSF
  • 2014: Rosemary Polomano, PhD, RN, FAAN
  • 2013: Diane L. Spatz, PhD, RN-BC-FAAN
  • 2012: Terri Lipman, PhD, CRNP, FAAN