COVID-19: News, Information, Resources, & Opportunities to Support

Skip to main content

American Academy of Nursing Announces New Fellows

Ten nursing professionals with ties to Penn Nursing will be inducted as 2018 Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing (AAN). One is a current doctoral student and a Robert Wood Johnson Future of Nursing Scholar. The other nine are Penn Nursing alumni. All of the inductees will be honored at a ceremony during the AAN’s annual policy conference, Transforming Health, Driving Policy, taking place November 1-3, 2018, in Washington, D.C.

This year’s fellows are:

  • William Rosa, GR,22, MS, AGPCNP-BC, FCCM
  • Caroline E. Stephens, Nu’99, GNu’00, GNC’01, PhD, RN, GNP-BC
  • Elizabeth Johnston Taylor, GNu’87, GRN’92, PhD, RN
  • Canhua Xiao, GR’11, PhD, RN
  • Katherine Elizabeth Gregory, GNu’98, PhD, RN
  • Valerie K. Sabol, GNu’96 PhD, ACNP-BC, GNP-BC, CNE, ANEF, FAANP
  • Deborah F. Lindell, GNu’72, DNP, RN, CNE, ANEF
  • Heather L. Tubbs Cooley, GNu’06, GR’10, PhD, RN
  • Martha Y. Kubik, GNu’82, PhD, RN
  • Bobbie Posmontier, GNu’86, GR’07, GNu’10, PhD, CNM, PMHNP-BC

 Fellow selection criteria includes evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care, and sponsorship by two current AAN fellows. Applicants are reviewed by a panel comprised of elected and appointed fellows, and selection is based, in part, on the extent the nominee’s nursing career has influenced health policies and the health and wellbeing of all.  Academy fellows include hospital and government administrators, college deans, and renowned scientific researchers. They represent all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and 28 countries.