Skip to main content

New Fellowships

Four Penn Nursing professors have been selected for new fellowships from national organizations in their respective fields. Congratulations to José A. Bauermeister, Diane Spatz, Abigail Howe-Heyman, and Dawn Elizabeth Bent.

José A. Bauermeister, PhD, MPH, the Albert M. Greenfield Professor of Human Relations; Chair of the Department of Family & Community Health; and Founding Director of The Eidos LGBTQ+ Health Initiative has been inducted as a 2023 SMB Fellow of the Society of Behavioral Medicine (SBM). This distinction is in recognition of outstanding contributions to the advancement of the science and practice of behavioral medicine. Among the considerations for this distinction are academic, professional, clinical, legislative, or other meritorious accomplishments.
Diane Spatz, PhD, RN-BC, FAAN, the Helen M. Shearer Term Professor of Nutrition and Professor of Perinatal Nursing, has been selected as a 2023 Fellow of the Association of Women’s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN). This honor recognizes nurse leaders who have made substantive and sustained contributions to the health of women and newborns beyond expectations of their role. AWHONN Fellows have demonstrated outstanding contributions to clinical practice, research, education, advocacy, or policy at the regional, national, or global level that is reflective of AWHONN’s mission and vision.
Abigail Howe-Heyman, PhD, CNM, RN, Practice Assistant Professor and Director of the Midwifery Track, has been inducted as a 2023 ACNM Fellow of the American College of Nurse Midwives (ACNM). This honor is bestowed upon those midwives who have demonstrated leadership within ACNM, clinical excellence, outstanding scholarship, and professional achievement.
Dawn Elizabeth Bent, DNP, MSN, CRNA, Practice Assistant Professor, will be inducted as a 2023 Fellow of the American Association of Nurse Anesthesiology (AANA). The FAANA designation is a major career achievement that recognizes CRNAs as outstanding practitioners, educators, researchers, and advocates for the profession. Acceptance criteria include professional achievements demonstrating impactful contributions that continue to promote and advance the profession in the areas of clinical practice, education, research, and professional advocacy and are consistent with the high standards of AANA.