Skip to main content

Society of Critical Care Medicine Award for Penn Nursing Professor

Martha A. Q. Curley, PhD, RN, FAAN, the Ruth M. Colket Endowed Chair in Pediatric Nursing and Professor of Nursing at the University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing (Penn Nursing), will receive the 2022 Asmund S. Laerdal Memorial Lecture Award from the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) during its annual congress. The 2022 gathering will be held virtually on Monday, April 18 through Thursday, April 21, 2022.

This award –established in 1991 – commemorates Asmund S. Laerdal, the creator of the Resusci Anne manikins used in CPR training procedures. The recipient is chosen from SCCM Critical Care Congress faculty for extensive involvement in critical care research and publishing. Since 1983, the SCCM awards and grants program promotes excellence in teaching and research with the goal of improved care of critically ill and injured patients.

“I’m extremely honored to receive this recognition for my contributions to the field of pediatric critical care,” said Curley. “That noted, clinical research in critical care requires interprofessional collaboration and the generosity of patients and families during such a difficult time in their lives. “