Skip to main content

American Academy of Nursing Announces New Fellows

Nine nursing professionals with ties to Penn Nursing will be inducted as 2021 Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing (AAN). One is a current Penn faculty member and alumna; the additional eight are Penn Nursing alumni.

All of the inductees will be honored at a ceremony during the AAN’s 2021 Health Policy Conference, taking place on October 7-9, 2021. This year’s conference and induction ceremony will be offered in a hybrid format, allowing attendees to participate either in-person (at the Marriott Marquis in Washington, DC) or virtually.

Our faculty member/alumna fellow this year is:

Karen Lasater, PhD, RN, GR’15, Associate Professor in the Department of Biobehavioral Health Sciences

Penn Nursing Alumni

  • Diane Breckenridge, PhD, MSN, RN, ANEF, GNu’81
  • Karen Dunn Lopez, PhD, MPH, RN, Nu’85
  • Maureen A. Madden, DNP, RN, CPNP-AC, CCRN, FCCM, GNu’94
  • Ruth Masterson Creber, PhD, MSc, RN, C’05, Nu’05, GNu’07, GR’14
  • Sarah Collins Rossetti, PhD, RN, FACMI, FAMIA, Nu’03
  • Fedricker Diane Barber, PhD, ANP-BC, AOCNP, FAANP, GNu’95
  • Melissa M. Gomes, PhD, APRN, PMHNP-BC, FNAP, GNu’00
  • Rhoda Redulla, DNP, RN, NPD-BC, GNC’08

Fellow selection criteria include evidence of significant contributions to nursing and health care, and sponsorship by two current AAN fellows. Applicants are reviewed by a panel comprised of elected and appointed fellows, and selection is based, in part, on the extent the nominee’s nursing career has influenced health policies and the health and wellbeing of all. Academy fellows include hospital and government administrators, college deans, and renowned scientific researchers. The newest Fellows represent 38 states, the District of Columbia, and 17 countries.