Accreditation Announcement for the Nurse-Midwifery Program>>

Skip to main content

University Honoring Aiken

The University of Pennsylvania is honoring Penn Nursing’s Linda Aiken, PhD, RN, FAAN, FRCN, the Claire M. Fagin Leadership Professor in Nursing, and Director, Center for Health Outcomes and Policy Research (CHOPR), with the Provost’s Award for Distinguished PhD Teaching and Mentoring. This is the first time a member of Penn Nursing’s Standing or Associated faculty has won this award.

Since joining the Penn Faculty in 1988 as one of the first Trustee Professors, Dr. Aiken has mentored well over 40 PhD students in nursing, sociology, and medicine. In all her mentoring, she is fully committed to providing each student an engaged and dynamic immersion experience in research during the PhD that involves participating in funded research, publishing scientific papers, and submitting grant applications. She founded and has directed the longest running and continuously funded NIH PhD training program, Advanced Training in Nursing Outcomes Research. This T32 PhD training program has been in operation for 20 years, and recently funded for years 21-25. Her mentees have been extraordinarily successful with more than 70% to date successfully competing for extramural grant funding, including R-series NIH and AHRQ funding. Most of her mentees are tenure track professors at research-intensive universities, including associate and full professors with tenure and several with endowed professorships, a full 35% have been minorities. Additionally, Dr. Aiken has mentored more than a dozen PhD students who do not qualify for federal training funding because they are not US residents, received their PhDs from universities outside the US, or have been in sociology or medicine. Most importantly, with all her mentees, Dr. Aiken’s mentorship does not end with the PhD but continues well into their careers as independent researchers.

Dr. Aiken’s dedication to bringing along the next generation of nurse scholars is founded on her own extraordinary and pioneering program of research in the field of nursing care and safe staffing. Her work is considered the exemplar for the field and has led to health care policy change to improve patient safety and laid the groundwork for the Magnet Recognition Program in hospitals today. Dr. Aiken’s awards and honors for her contributions to nursing and health care are too numerous to list but a sampling include eight honorary doctorates, the Gustav O. Lienhard Award from the National Academy of Medicine, and the Episteme Award from Sigma Theta Tau International. She is a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences as well as an Honorary Fellow in the Royal College of Nursing of the United Kingdom, and is an elected member of the National Academy of Medicine, (formerly the Institute of Medicine).

Dr. Aiken will receive her award at a reception honoring all of this year’s award winners on Monday, April 29, 2019, 5-6:30 PM, Room 200, College Hall. All members of the University community are invited to attend.