Skip to main content

Established in 1989 as one of the first centers to scale up rigorous research on the impact of nursing on patient outcomes, the Center uses evidence to inform policy and produces the next generation of scientists.

Magnet4Europe Project Brings Hospital Partners Together in Philadelphia

(Photo: Hoag Levins) Welcoming 300 hospital researchers, clinicians, and managers from U.S. and E...(Photo: Hoag Levins) Welcoming 300 hospital researchers, clinicians, and managers from U.S. and European hospitals are Magnet4Europe Co-Directors Walter Sermeus, PhD, RN, from Katholieke Universiteit Leuven in Belgium and Linda Aiken, PhD, RN, from the University of Pennsylvania.

Strong European Union Support and Extended Funding Set Tone of Two-Day Gathering

The two-day Magnet4Europe (M4E) October gathering was part of a larger three-day American Nurses Association’s American Nurses Credentialing Center’s National Magnet Conference that filled Philadelphia’s Pennsylvania Convention Center and adjacent Philadelphia Marriott Downtown conference center with 13,000 attendees. More

“Magnet is clearly a social movement in the US when that many nurses come together with great enthusiasm and energy to invest in strengthening the Magnet model and to celebrate its success at a time when hospital nurses are experiencing the most difficult period in my professional career with over half of hospital bedside care nurses experiencing high burnout,” said Linda Aiken, PhD, RN, who co-directs M4E with Walter Sermeus, PhD, RN, of Belgium’s Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (KUL). 

Matthew D. McHugh, PhD, to Receive the 17th Claire M. Fagin Distinguished Researcher Award

The biennial award honors the best scholarly qualities that Dr. Fagin, the School’s third Dean, exemplified. It is given to a Penn Nursing faculty member, or a graduate from the School’s doctoral program, who has made a distinguished contribution to nursing scholarship. Matthew D. McHugh, PhD, JD, MPH, RN, CRNP, FAAN, The Independence Chair for Nursing Education, Professor of Nursing, and Director of the School’s Center for Health Outcomes and Policy Research, is a stellar nurse scientist with national and international stature and impact. He is renowned for his program of research that addresses critical problems that affect the nursing profession and enhances health system quality. The award presentation will be on April 13, 2023.

Dr. Margo Brooks Carthon is the recipient of a Hillman Foundation Grant to further expand THRIVE..

THRIVE is a novel, equity-centered approach that provides whole-person care to Medicaid patients transitioning from hospital to home. A $300,000 Rita and Alex Hillman Foundation Catalyst Award will provide the funds to advance the promising intervention and brainchild of Dr. Brooks Carthon. The additional funding will serve to establish THRIVE as a standard for delivering transitional care to Medicaid patients. More

Dr. Karen Lasater is PI of a new R01 from AHRQ.

Dr. Lasater’s new study, Learning from Hospital Preparedness during COVID: Chronically Under-Resourced Nurses and Patient Safety,” leverages the unique data CHOPR has collected from NY and IL to understand how hospitals and the nurses and patients in them fared through the COVID-19 pandemic. Co-investigators include: Drs. Matthew McHugh, Linda Aiken, and Herbert Smith.