Skip to main content

Established in 1989 as one of the first centers to scale up rigorous research on the impact of nursing on patient outcomes, the Center uses evidence to inform policy and produces the next generation of scientists.

Featured News Story

Dr. Linda Aiken receives Penn Provost Award for Distinguished PhD  Teaching and Mentoring

This is the first time anyone from Penn Nursing has received this award. At the reception to honor the 2019 Lindback awardees, Penn Provost Wendell Pritchett presented the award to Dr. Aiken and told attendees of the Center’s many successes, “CHOPR is the longest continuously NIH-funded PhD program in nursing in the country. That’s pretty impressive!”  More

Featured Research Projects

Panel Study of Effects of Changes in Nursing on Patient Outcomes

  • Funded by the National Institute of Nursing Research Study
  • Principal Investigator: Linda H. Aiken, PhD, RN, FAAN, FRCN
  • Supplemental Study: Alzheimer’s Disease and its related Dementias (AD/ADRD)
  • Supplemental Study Principal Investigator: Olga Jarrín, PhD, RN

The Impact of Nursing on In-Hospital Cardiac Arrest Patient Outcomes

Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) Performance: Missed Nursing Care and Infant Outcomes

Disparities in the Outcomes and Processes of Care for In-Hospital Cardiac Arrest (IHCA): The Role of Differences in the Organization and Delivery of Nursing

Health services research on legislated nurse-to-patient ratios in Queensland, Australia

  • Funded by Queensland Health, Australia
  • CHOPR Principal Investigators: Linda H. Aiken, PhD, RN, FAAN,  Matthew McHugh, PhD, JD, MPH, RN, CRNP, FAAN
  • Partner Institution: Queensland University of Technology 


L.-R.: Dr. Jeffrey Silber, Dr. Eileen Lake, Dr. Linda H. Aiken, Dr. Herbert SmithL.-R.: Dr. Jeffrey Silber, Dr. Eileen Lake, Dr. Linda H. Aiken, Dr. Herbert Smith


Featured Publications

Electronic Health Record Adoption and Nurse Reports of Usability and Quality of Care: The Role of Work Environment

Journal: Applied Clinical Formatics
Authors: Kutney-Lee, A, Sloane, DM, Bowles, KH, Aiken, LH. 

Our study findings suggest that adoption of a comprehensive  EHR system—with more advanced functionalities— is associated with greater nurse satisfaction with the system, more favorable reports of the system’s usability, and higher quality of care.

Nurses’ and patients’ appraisals show patient safety in hospitals remains a concern.

Journal: Health Affairs
Authors: Aiken LH, Sloane DM, Barnes H, Cimiotti J.

“Failure to substantially improve clinical work environments in most hospitals, as recommended by the Institute of Medicine, may be hampering progress toward improving patient safety.”

 The Association of the Nurse Work Environment and Patient Safety in Pediatric Acute Care.

Journal: Journal of Patient Safety
 Authors: Lake ET, Roberts KE, Agosto PD, Ely E, Bettencourt A,Schierholz ES, Frankenberger WD, Catania G, Aiken LH.

“Improving clinical work environments in hospitals holds promise for achieving a culture of patient safety that increases the reliability of care and prevents harm “

Quality of end of life care and its association with nurse practice environments in US hospitals.

Journal: Journal of the American Geriatrics Society
Authors: Lasater K, McHugh MD, Sloane DM, Aiken LH.

“Quality of end‐of‐life care in US hospitals is imperfect and is significantly worse in hospitals with poor nurse practice environments than in hospitals with the best environments. ”

Effect of changes in hospital nursing resources on improvements in patient safety and quality of care: A panel study. 

Journal: Medical Care
Authors: Sloane DM, Smith HL, McHugh MD, Aiken LH.

“Improvements within hospitals in work environments, nurse staffing, and educational composition of nurses coincide with improvements in quality of care and patient safety. Cross-sectional results closely approximate longitudinal panel results.”