Site ActionsUse SHIFT+ENTER to open the menu (new window).Open Menu Navigate Up
Sign In

John A. Hartford Foundation and the Hartford Center of Geriatric Nursing Excellence

The Center for Integrative Science in Aging has been partially supported by the John A. Hartford Foundation since 2001, when the Center was designated one of the five original Hartford Centers of Geriatric Nursing Excellence (HCGNE).  The four other centers include the University of Arkansas, the University of Iowa, the University of California, San Francisco and Oregon Health and Science University.  The designation of the HCGNEs was part of a larger initiative of the John A. Hartford Foundation to Build Academic Geriatric Nursing Capacity (BAGNC) in response to the national critical need for nurses in general, and geriatric nursing in particular. The two other components of the initiative are pre-doctorate scholar and post-doctorate fellow awards as well as a Coordinating Center at the American Academy of Nursing. 

According to the John A. Hartford Foundation, the HCGNEs are schools of nursing "which have demonstrated the highest level of commitment to the field, have both current experience and future potential to build the next generation of Gerontological nurses, have outstanding capacity in research, practice and education, manifest leadership that transcends their own institution and meet generally accepted criteria of excellence." The grants of the original five centers were renewed for another five years in 2006, with an added emphasis on collaboration between the centers.  In 2008 four new Centers were funded.   They include: Arizona State University, Pennsylvania State University, the University of Minnesota and the University of Utah.  The University of Pennsylvania HCGNE enjoys an on-going collaboration with the Pennsylvania State HCGNE.

Learn more about the John A. Hartford Foundation
Learn more about Pre-doctoral Scholarships and Post-doctoral Fellowships available through the John A. Hartford Foundation

To learn more about the other John A. Hartford Centers of Geriatric Nursing Excellence:

Arizona State University
Oregon Health and Science University
Pennsylvania State University
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
University of California, San Francisco
University of Iowa
University of Minnesota
University of Utah

For helpful tips for designing posters, presentations and strengthening professional communications